“Why We Bow In Martial Arts” by Mike Bidwell

lyoto-machida-bow

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I took my first martial arts lesson over thirty years ago. I don’t remember any of the techniques I learned. I’m sure it was some variation of a front kick and some punch and block combination from a horse stance or something “karate-kidesque”. The one thing I do remember was that when we walked onto the training floor we paused and bowed before we entered. My teacher explained that when we bowed we were “clearing the calculator”… that, “this was an opportunity to remind ourselves to be clear and present for our lesson.” I thought that was pretty cool and I never forgot my first martial arts lesson!  (Click here to continue)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

